IOMTT: TT Zero Race Results

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

After two years of stagnation, 2018 was do or die for the TT Zero electric race in terms of forward progress. Before the race even started, the race saw some drama, with Team Mugen’s three-bike strategy having to be rethinked due to news from John McGuinness and Bruce Anstey.

As such, Mugen ultimately would field a two-man team, with Michael Rutter and Lee Johnston on the helm of the Mugen Shinden Nana.

In total, only seven entries would lineup on Glencrutchery road for the TT Zero race, with all eyes wondering if we would finally see a 120 mph lap from the electric bikes.

The 120 mark would indeed finally be broken, with Michael Rutter setting a 121.824 mph lap and the new high-water mark for electric motorcycles at the Isle of Man TT.

The podium would be surprise though, as Lee Johnston suffered a mechanical issue mid-course, and had to enlist some spectators to help get his chain back on the Mugen’s sprocket.

This would leave the second-place position open to Daley Mathison, who was putting in a fantastic lap on the University of Nottingham machine.

Mathison would go on to finish with a 119.294 mph lap, just missing the 120 mark, but still lapping quicker than the previous lap record, which was set by John McGuinness in 2015.

Getting back on the course, Johnston would have to settle for a third place finish, putting in a disappointing 105.566 mph lap.

Photo: IOMTT

This Isle of Man TT story is made possible by our A&R Pro members. If you enjoy our coverage of the TT on Asphalt & Rubber, you should consider supporting this content by signing up for A&R Pro.

Be sure to follow all of our 2018 Isle of Man TT racing coverage this fortnight.