IOMTT: SES TT Zero Race Results

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

It might be the shortest event during the TT fortnight, but the TT Zero packs the more technology and development than the other TT races combined. Every year, the electric race bikes make leaps of progress in their pace, and for 2015 the unofficial mark to beat was the 120 mph barrier.

Team Mugen seemed close to that mark during the practice sessions, with John McGuinness posting a timed 118 mph lap. With Bruce Anstey already a race winner from the Superbike TT, and McPint always looking good on the Shinden race bike, the duo was heavily favored to win.

This year’s TT Zero also sees the return of Brammo to the Isle of Man, disguised as the Victory Racing team.

Victory was originally slotted to have Lee Johnston and William Dunlop as its riders, but Dunlop’s crash during the Superstock race meant his TT racing was over for this year. Luckily, his Tyco BMW teammate, Guy Martin, was available and keen to ride the electrics, and thus substituted for the injured Dunlop.

Other entries include Saroléa and Saietta, as well as the university teams from Brunel, Kingston, and Nottingham.

Getting underway with great conditions, it was Bruce Anstey who surprised at Glen Helen, the first timing station. He was followed closely by John McGuinness, Lee Johnston, and Guy Martin.

That order would shuffle at Ballaugh, with McGuinness taking over the lead. Despite a late charge by Anstey over the mountain, the order would remain to the finish line.

Finishing fifth for Sarolea was Robert Wilson, followed by James Cowton for Brunel University, and Michael Sweeney for the University of Nottingham.

Taking his first TT win of 2015, John McGuinness had the added pleasure of setting a lap record, the first of the TT fortnight. The Team Mugen rider set a 119.279 mph lap, just five seconds short of breaking the 120 mph mark.

Team Mugen is surely now the team to beat at the TT Zero event, though Victory racing is showing promise, and could be real trouble for the Japanese squad next year.

If banter on Twitter is to be believed, MotoCzysz could return for the 2016 event, which would be a real treat for TT fans, and add a tremendous amount of competition to the race.

Click Here for Full Race Results from the SES TT Zero Challenge Race

Source: IOMTT; Photo: © 2015 Tony Goldsmith / – All Rights Reserved