IOMTT: SES TT Zero Results

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

The 2017 Isle of Man TT will go down as a tough year for the electric bikes racing in the SES TT Zero race. With few laps around the course because of weather, and with record-holder John McGuinness stuck on the sidelines with injury, the speeds haven’t been what we were expecting.

Bruce Anstey filled in for McGuinness on the Team Mugen bike, and was only able to post a 113 mph lap in qualifying – well off the 119 mph pace that McGuinness set in 2015.

With the 2017 SES TT Zero race being Guy Martin’s best hope for a TT race win, there was a bit of intrigue heading into the race, though it was clear that Martin’s head was still stuck on his crash in the Superbike TT race.

Unsurprisingly, it was a Mugen 1-2 finish for the TT Zero race, with Anstey showing more speed (117.710 mph) than teammate Guy Martin (113.632 mph), with over 40 seconds behind the Kiwi.

Slotting into third was Daley Mathison, riding one of the University of Nottingham machines, showing a very impressive 109.209 mph lap. The other University of Nottingham machine was piloted by Antonio Maeso, which finished fifth with a less-stellar 91.197 mph lap.

In-between the two University of Nottingham results was the Sarolea, with Dean Harrison doing a 108.064 mph lap on the attractive Belgian project.

Of note, all eight of the TT Zero race-starters finished this year’s race, which is a first for the electric class at the Isle of Man TT.

Click here to see the full race results from the SES TT Zero

Source: IOMTT; Photo: © 2017 Tony Goldsmith / – All Rights Reserved

Be sure to follow all of our 2017 Isle of Man TT racing coverage this fortnight.