Ian Hutchinson Takes Pole Position for Macau GP

11/15/2013 @ 7:13 am, by Jensen Beeler9 COMMENTS


The Macau GP is this weekend, and it is already shaping up to be a great event after today’s qualifying. Normally this is a race that Michael Rutter dominates (the Brit has eight Macau GP race wins to his name), but this year sees a new name on the leaderboard at the conclusion of the two qualifying sessions: Ian Hutchinson.

The only man to ever win all five solo races at the Isle of Man TT, Hutchinson was all the talk in 2010, but the Bingly man has seen his last two seasons hampered with tough recoveries from leg injuries.

Though finally healthy, many were beginning to wonder if Hutchy had lost his pace on a motorbike — his performance today on the Milwaukee Yamaha YZF-R1 has ended that talk though.

Hutchinson grabbed the pole in the final laps of the second qualifying, after pulling in at the beginning of the session to undo some changes his team had made to the bike in the hopes of getting some better steering on the tight road circuit.

The time in the pits, and the mechanical revisions, paid off though, as Hutchinson took pole by a narrow 0.057 seconds from Rutter. The pair will be the ones to watch come tomorrow’s race.

A previous race winner, John McGuinness could also be in the mix on his Honda TT Legends bike. Though, Mr. McPint finished nearly two seconds back from the front pair.

American’s Mark Miller (20th) and Brandon Cretu (32nd) are also at Macau, and will be racing on two EBR 1190RS race bikes, which are being supported by Erik Buell Racing mechanics from the AMA Pro Racing series.

Miller could not improve upon his position, though made big steps with his lap times. Meanwhile his teammate Cretu had mechanical issue with his 1190RS, which kept him off the track for the latter part of the second qualifying.

Qualifying Results for the 2013 Macau GP:

Pos. Rider Team Bike Diff.
1 Ian Hutchinson Milwaukee Yamaha Yamaha YZF R1 2’25.568
2 Michael Rutter SMT Racing Honda CBR 1000RR 0.057
3 John McGuinness Honda TT Legends Honda CBR 1000RR 1.879
4 Martin Jessopp Riders Motorcycles BMW BMW S1000RR 1.999
5 Horst Saiger Saiger-Racing.com Kawasaki ZX-10R 2.033
6 Gary Johnson Quattro Plant Motorsports Honda CBR 1000RR 2.574
7 James Storrar DMR Racing BMW S1000RR 2.725
8 Jeremy Toye Penz13.Com BMW Racing Team BMW HP4 3.207
9 Didier Grams Heidger-Motorsport.de BMW S1000RR 3.23
10 Dan Kneen Marks Bloom Racing Suzuki GSX-R 1000 3.801
11 Lee Johnston East Coast Racing Honda CBR 1000RR 4.589
12 Stephen Thompson T&R Motorsport Suzuki GSX-R 1000 4.592
13 David Johnson Lloyd & Jones PR Kawasaki Kawasaki ZX-10R 5.084
14 Marc Fissette Heidger-Motorsport.de Yamaha YZF R1 5.406
15 Dean Harrison RC Express by MSS Performance Kawasaki ZX-10R 5.512
16 Dan Cooper DMR Racing BMW S1000RR 5.702
17 Hervé Gantner Penz13.com BMW Racing Team BMW HP4 6.729
18 Roman Stamm Team Bolliger Switzerland Kawasaki ZX-10R 7.707
19 Jamie Hamilton VRS Racing Team Honda CBR 1000RR 7.806
20 Mark Miller Splitlath Redmond Racing EBR 1190RS 8.561
21 Davy Morgan CSC Racing Suzuki GSX-R 1000 8.571
22 Steve Heneghan Quattro Plant Motorsports Kawasaki ZX-10R 8.571
23 Andre Pires SBK/Incortcar Suzuki GSX-R 1000 8.851
24 Paul Shoesmith Ice Valley by Motorsave Trade BMW S1000RR 10.436
25 Ian Lougher ILR/Barnes Racing Honda CBR 1000RR 11.047
26 Graham English TIVA Engineering Ltd BMW S1000RR 11.512
27 Sandor Bitter Quattro Plant Motorsports Kawasaki ZX-10R 11.524
28 Allann Jon Venter Quattro Plant Motorsports Kawasaki ZX-10R 11.753
29 Brian McCormack TAG Racing Honda CBR 1000RR 13.391
30 Ben Wylie Ice Valley by Motorsave Trade BMW S1000RR 13.468
31 Nuno Caetano KD Team of Portugal Kawasaki ZX-10R 13.673
32 Brandon Cretu Splitlath Redmond Racing EBR 1190RS 13.764

Source: Macau GP; Photo: © 2013 CGPM / Macau GP – All Rights Reserved

  • L2C

    Damn, it’s that time again already? Holy shit.

  • Prich

    L2 – The same exact thing ran through my head when I saw the headline.

  • Bluey

    thank you A&R for mentioning EBR and giving us updates. i’m puzzled why some websites, american ones too, find it painful to mention them even while EBR is doing great things.

  • Slangbusters

    Jeremy Toye from San Diego CA (USA) in 8th on a BMW. Good Job!

  • Daniel

    I was at the TT this year and I don’t recall him participating in this year’s event.

  • tony

    yeah san diego ! yeah hutchie!

  • Gutterslob

    With regards to Hutchy, “tough recoveries from leg injuries” is a massive understatement. After going through what he did, it would’ve been a miracle to even walk, let alone race. I can’t even imagine how painful the rehab was for him. Top lad. Takes some doing to beat Rutter the Nutter at Macau.

    ….and wow, Ian Lougher still going strong. Isn’t he past 50yrs old now?

  • “Isn’t he past 50yrs old now?”

    Just 50 this year. Still damn quick!

  • BBQdog

    Coverage ?? Anywhere ?