IOMTT: Lightweight TT Race Results

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

A stark contrast to the Senior TT that it precedes, the Isle of Man TT’s Lightweight TT race is comprised of 650cc twins, and the field is dominated by a sea of Kawasaki race bikes. A few competitors try different machinery, Suzuki’s mainly, though a couple Chinese models can be spotted in the paddock.

To be truly competitive in the Lightweight TT though, you need to be on one of Ryan Farquhar’s race-prepped bikes, which draws a small circle on the number of true contender’s for the class’s podium spots.

This prospect left Michael Dunlop to withdraw from the Lightweight TT, prefering to concentrate his energy in securing a clean sweep of the five main solo races in the 2013 Isle of Man TT.

Should he win the Senior TT, he would accomplish a feat only ever achieved by Ian Hutchinson — so we can’t fault him for his absence. This still left a strong grid in the Lightweight TT class. Race spoilers after the jump.

Wearing the #1 plate this TT fortnight, James Hillier finally lived up to the honor, and won his first Isle of Man TT race. In control the whole of the race, Hillier opted for a first-lap pit stop strategy (the Lightweight TT is a three-lap race, with competitors making one pit stop, either after the first or second lap), as did the rest of the podium-finishers.

Putting down a comfortable 30 second lead over second-place man Dean Harrison, Hillier set a record for the Lightweight TT race of 119.129 mph (the Lightweight TT’s introductory race last year was held under damp conditions) — we are sure this help make his first win a very memorable one indeed. Finishing third was local man Conor Cummins, racing for Farquhar’s KMR Racing.

For complete race results, click here. Follow the rest of our 2013 Isle of Man TT coverage right here.

Source: IOMTT; Photo: © 2013 Richard Mushet / Mushet Photo – All Rights Reserved