IOMTT: RL360 Quantum Superstock TT Results

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Wednesday saw a full schedule of racing slated, with the 2017 Isle of Man TT looking to catch up on a week that had been plagued with adverse weather. First up, was the RL360 Quantum Superstock TT, where competitors race 1,000cc machines in near-stock form.

Just because there was racing, doesn’t mean that the weather was perfect though, with riders advised that there were cross winds  at Crosby Hill, along with damp patches at Ginger Hall, the Ramsey Hairpin, and Hillberry.

We will cut right to the chase: showing his dominance on the course was Ian Hutchinson, who won his third Superstock TT race in a row, which was his second TT race win during this year’s TT fortnight.

Hutchinson lead essentially from start to finish during the race, finishing over 22 seconds ahead of fellow BMW rider Peter Hickman. Dan Kneen would round out the podium, with the Manx rider taking his first rostrum honors at the Isle of Man TT.

It was Michael Rutter who lead off the line, and through Glen Helen, as he opened up a one-second gap to Hutchinson. But by the Ballaugh Bridge though, Hutchinson gained on Rutter, while Hickman would slot above Rutter by the time they went through the Grandstand.

Dan Kneen, Dean Harrison, and Michael Dunlop would round out the Top 6 over the first lap.

Meanwhile, James Hillier retired on the opening lap, pulling in at Ballacraine. Bruce Anstey, Conor Cummins, and Gary Johnson also all retired, calling it quits at the end of the first lap as they came into the pit lane.

On the second lap, Kneen would get passed Rutter, thus locking in the podium order. Rutter would fall further down the order after the mid-race pit stop and on the third lap, as Dunlop got passed him on the time sheets at Ballaugh Bridge.

Rutter would answer back on Lap 4, however, taking the fourth place spot back from Dunlop, who in turn fell to a charging Dean Harrison, making it a strong scrap for the fourth place position. William Dunlop finished seventh, followed by  David Johnson, Jamie Coward, and Horst Saiger.

For Hutchinson, the win was his 16th career victory at the Isle of Man TT, and it put him well-ahead in the Joey Dunlop Championship points standings, where Hickman follows in second, five points behind.

Unfortunately, the Superstock TT race claimed the life of Dutch rider Jochem van den Hoek, who had an incident near the 11th Milestone. We send our condolences to his family and friends.

Click here to see the full race results from the RL360 Quantum Superstock TT

Source: IOMTT; Photo: © 2017 Tony Goldsmith / – All Rights Reserved

Be sure to follow all of our 2017 Isle of Man TT racing coverage this fortnight.