IOMTT: Monster Energy Supersport TT Race 2 Results

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

In addition to the TT Zero race, Wednesday at the 2015 Isle of Man TT played host to Race 2 of the Monster Energy Supersport TT. Despite the weather that had played havoc during the practice week, conditions for the second Supersport TT were perfect.

As such, the fans were out in force to see who would grab the checkered flag. Bruce Anstey had shown himself capable of winning, taking the RST Superbike TT, and of course Ian Hutchinson has been the talk of the TT.

Generally not a top pick in the supersport class, John McGuinness has been off his pace this year, though coming off the TT Zero win, he certainly seemed on point Wednesday.

Reversing his decision to sit out the second supersport race, Michael Dunlop lined up on Glencrutchery Road, and certainly cannot be counted out of a solo-class race, especially one on a 600cc machine.

In the end though, it was Ian Hutchinson who grabbed Race 2 of the Monster Energy Supersport TT, making this his third win of the 2015 Isle of Man TT.

Hutchie was in second place at Glen Helen on the first lap, chasing James Hillier with Bruce Anstey following in third. Close behind were Gary Johnson, Guy Martin, and Dean Harrison. The race would be over quickly for Harrison though, who retired at Ballaugh.

Getting to work quickly, Hutchinson took over from Hillier by the time the pair hit Ramsey. Coming down the mountain and to the end of the first lap, Anstey would surpass Hillier too, working his way to second place, where he would stay the rest of the race.

Unfortunately for Michael Dunlop, his race was over after the first lap, with the nephew of Joey retiring his Honda in the pits.

The order would stay the same until the riders finished their second lap and came into the pit lane to refuel, where Martin finally passed Hillier for third. Martin would go on to claim his third-position sport, and claim his first podium of the TT fortnight.

The Top 6 positions would stay the same for the rest of the race, with Hutchinson leading Anstey, Martin, Hillier, Gary Johnson, and Lee Johnston. The battle for seventh was closely fought by John McGuinness, Conor Cummins, and Dan Kneen.

In the end, the seventh spot would go to local Conor Cummins, followed by McGuinness and Kneen, respectively.

With both Supersport TT wins and the Superstock TT to his name, Ian Hutchinson has firmly shown that he is back on his game. With a strong showing in the Senior TT, he is sure to be the Joey Dunlop TT Championship winner.

Click Here for Full Race Results from the Monster Energy Supersport TT Race 2

Source: IOMTT; Photo: © 2015 Tony Goldsmith / – All Rights Reserved