How is Steve Rapp Like Moses? They Were Both on a Mission to the Promised Land

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

The joint e-Power/TTXGP round at Laguna Seca saw its second round today, with virtually all the riders improving upon their times from yesterday’s free practice. Once again at the top was Supersport-paced Mission R, which was piloted by Steve Rapp to a 1’31.376 pole-position time. One of the only shake-ups on the grid position, Lightning Motorcycles bested last year’s winner MotoCzysz for the second starting position, as the company from San Carlos found some more cornering speed from its previous Isle of Man suspension setup.

MotoCzysz also improved upon its unique suspension design, looking very strong down the straight-away. Hopefully Czysz can find some more speed and make the battle for second a close one, while the battle for fourth should be a hot contest with Germany’s Münch Racing just five hundredths of a second ahead of Oregon’s Brammo. Qualifying results are after the jump, and check back tomorrow for our full coverage of the Laguna Seca electric round.

Qualifying Practice Results from e-Power/TTXGP at Laguna Seca:

Pos. No. Rider Motorcycle Team Time
1 17 Steve Rapp Mission R Mission Motors 1’31.376
2 80 Michael Barnes Lightning Lightning Motorcycles 1’37.505
3 11 Michael Czysz MotoCzysz E1pc MotoCzysz 1’39.272
4 49 Matthias Himmelmann Münch TTE Münch Racing Team 1’42.051
5 58 Steve Atlas Brammo Empulse Brammo Racing 1’42.127
6 48 Alessandro Brannetti eCRP 1.4 CRP Racing 1’42.392
7 37 Thad Wolff Moto Electra Moto Electra 1’49.309
8 93 Shelina Moreda eCRP 1.4 CRP Racing 1’53.611
9 7 Marcellino Manzano LGN Racing LGN Racing Team 1’55.075
10 96 Kenyon Kluge Zero S K Squared Racing 1’59.778
11 18 Ely Schless Proto Moto Pro Moto Racing 2’00.012

Source: FIM; Photo: © 2011 Scott Jones Photography – All Rights Reserved