IOMTT: PokerStars Senior TT Race Results

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

The final race of the 2014 Isle of Man TT is upon us, the “blue ribbon” event as they call it on the Isle, we are of course talking about the Senior TT.

Six laps of high-octane racing, the smart money pick was of course on Michael Dunlop and his BMW S1000RR superbike — despite BMW having not been at the Isle of Man in decades, and Dunlop never having won a Senior before in his career.

With perfect weather on the Snaefell Mountain Course, TT fans were treated to a fine Senior TT, which was full of close racing.

Out of the gates, it was a Dunlop who lead, but not Michael. William Dunlop lead through to the Bungalow before his brother Michael Dunlop could challenge his position.

Michael would get the better of William, though the pair would be in close touch through the second lap. Unfortunately during the third lap, William Dunlop crashed at Graham’s, and is suspected to have broken his leg in the process.

This meant Conor Cummins took over the second place position (he had done so in the pits before William’s crash), and gave chase to Michael. Putting his head down though, Michael Dunlop stretched a strong lead over Cummins on the third lap, as Guy Martin slowly lost contact on the time sheets as well.

That trio would retain their places throughout the race, as Dunlop managed his gap effectively, despite his slower pit stops.

Vying for fourth was a bevy of riders. First up was Dean Harrison, who was as high as third place on the opening lap. Getting a time penalty in the pit lane, Harrison retired his race at Sulby.

Ultimately it was Bruce Anstey who would lockdown the fourth position, as the Kiwi put in a number of strong laps at the end of the race.

The Senior TT results mean Michael Dunlop has won four races at the 2014 Isle of Man TT (his 11th TT win overall), including his first Senior TT.

If BMW elects to make a supersport machine, or Dunlop finds himself a competitive TT Zero rider, Ian Hutchinson’s record of five solo-class race wins could be in jeopardy.

One last notable mention was Peter Hickman, who set the new fastest newcomer lap record, with a 129.104 mph lap during the Senior TT event.

For the full listing of race results, click here.

Photo: © 2014 Richard Mushet / Mushet Photo – All Rights Reserved

Be sure to follow all of Asphalt & Rubber’s 2014 Isle of Man TT coverage.