IOMTT: SES TT Zero Race Results

06/05/2013 @ 3:28 am, by Jensen Beeler15 COMMENTS


You either love the technology and progress being showcased in the SES TT Zero race at the Isle of Man TT, or you hate the lack of sound, slower speeds, and fairly predictable outcomes that the electric race provides.

For our part, we love watching the electrics go around the Mountain Course, and if you have been following the practice and qualifying sessions for the TT Zero class, the racing is anything but a parade lap at the pointy end of the entry list.

With John McGuinness leading the field with his Mugen Shinden Ni going into the 2013 TT Zero, many wondered if MotoCzysz could make it four in a row at the 2013 Isle of Man TT.

To win though, McGuinness would have to defeat two-time TT Zero winner Michael Rutter, and the 2010 TT Zero winner Mark Miller, both of whom are on the brand new 2013 MotoCzysz E1pc this fortnight. Well, now we know the answer. Click through past the jump for our full race report 2013 SES TT Zero.

Fastest out of the gate, McGuinness took an early lead headed through Glen Helen, with a solid nine second lead on Michael Rutter, and a 10 second gap to Mark Miller. This would be the peak of McGuinness’s lead though, as Rutter slowly built up steam on his pace.

Rutter was quickest through the Sulby straight speed trap, touting a 142.2 mph top speed. Comparatively, McGuinness went 131.8 mph on the Mugen Shinden Ni, while Rob Barber did an impressive 122.7 mph.

Eight seconds back at the Bungalow on the top of the Mountain section, Rutter poured it on, astoundingly dropping the distance to McGuinness to only 0.791 seconds at Cronk-ny-Mona.

As they came to the grandstand, Rutter crossed the line first, and as the suspense built with each second, McGuinness arrived 21.672 seconds later (109.523 mph). With McGuinness starting 20 seconds behind Rutter, this meant a final gap between the two riders of only 1.671 seconds — advantage Rutter.

Making it a hat trick, Rutter also set a new Mountain Course record for the electric race bikes: 109.675 mph — just short of the 110 mph barrier by a few seconds.

With Mark Miller having to retire at Ballaugh Bridge, presumably because of a machine failure, Rob Barber with the Ohio State University student team rounded out the podium, with an impressive 90.4 mph lap.

For complete race results, click here. Follow the rest of our 2013 Isle of Man TT coverage right here.

Source: IOMTT; Photo: © 2013 Richard Mushet / Mushet Photo – All Rights Reserved

  • Congrats Rutter/Czysz! Nice run by McGuinness/Mugen. Great to see Barber on the podium for an IOM leccy race again.

  • Wow! Great race and BIG congrats to Motoczysz on the victory! That was yet another BIG step forward in a single year – very, very impressive. Looking forward to seeing you at Laguna in July and proud you’ve represented Oregon and American ingenuity! Also props to the Ohio State team – on the podium with a mere fraction of the budget and experience of the big teams. Awesome.

  • Gutterslob

    Uhm … why is Rutter riding the MotoCzysz in Honda leathers? O_o

  • TRL

    Congratulations to the whole Czysz team!

    Lots of motorcycle industry noise out of SoCal but the action is in Oregon!

    (Anyone else note the vents on the upper fairing? Take that Terblanche haters….999 FTW!)

  • jzj

    Small American company beats mighty Honda! Very neat.

    And, best wishes to Michael Czysz, who is battling a health issue and did not make the trip.

    The year-t0-year level of improvement in these bikes is remarkable. And with ever-improving batteries (there may be significant leaps in battery energy coming this year), I would expect continued lap-time improvements. If MotoCzysz would bring their bike to market, there would be three truly amazing open-class electric motorcycles on the market (along with Lightning and now Mission), and great opportunity for really fast competitive racing.

  • TexusTim

    looks like cysz finaly found his nitch in motorsports…I believe in 10 to 15 years most bikes will be electric and yes at some point they will be in motogp either as an experment series or full on class of there own,,this technology is here to stay..bikes are the perfect platform as they will get around the same mpg on two tanks of gas out of one charge in the not to distant future…I like it.

  • EvilTwin

    Go Buckeyes!

  • Westward

    I don’t think we will have to wait 10 or 15 years for the electric revolution.

    18-year-old Eesha Khare won a major science award at the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair in Phoenix AZ. Her invention was honored as one of two winners of Young Scientist Awards. Khare’s invention, a little black rectangular shaped super-capacitor just over an inch long, can charge a cell phone battery in 20 to 30 seconds.

    “I developed a new supercapacitor, which is basically an energy storage device which can hold a lot of energy in a small amount of volume,” she told KPIX 5. The technology may also be used to speed up charging of automobile batteries, Khare said.

    The young lady is from the Bay Area CA by the way…. (Beeler, you should do a story on her for the electric interests of A&R)

    Brammo, Zero, and Tesla take note of this young whiz kid. SHe may have just made the future much brighter for the Electric Revolution…

  • I wonder when Honda is going to man up for a real HRC effort like they know they can, as does everyone else in the world. We’ll know they are there to WIN (not compete) if they choose to put the HRC badge on it next time… *end rant

  • Gutterslob – this was a practice lap during the week, so Michael had been on one of his other bikes before this session. Plus, he was probably saving his MotoCzysz leathers for the race!

  • Updated the post with a photo from the race. Great shots from that Richard Mushet guy so far, eh? ;)

  • Thanks to everyone for supporting our student project team, Buckeye Current, from The Ohio State University. Rob is a great rider and a great insight into the electric race bikes. Yes, it was a shoestring budget so some compromises were made, but, with a fun-loving group of talented engineering students who came together? Our first appearance at the TT was, happily, with great success. We’re already talking about improvements and modifications for higher lap times. Keep watching! We have a few graduating, but more to train up teach and progress the sum total of this team’s output.


  • paulus – Thailand

    Wouldn’t it make more sense to be an ‘alternative power/fuel’ race.
    Bio-fuels are more of a practical alternative to electric for the energy transition.
    What about diesel or Bio fuels?

    I don’t think that the future is going to be solely electric.

  • Scott

    Julia, is this program going to continue there? What students are working on it?

  • Hi Scott – yes! the program is almost 3 years old and will continue. It’s called a “Motorsports Student Project”, a volunteer “club” outside of the normal school curriculum but supported by the university. We work in a building alongside our EcoCAR program, Formula SAE, Baja, and the Buckeye Bullet (land speed vehicle). Because our team is mostly undergraduate students, we’ll be recruiting new younger volunteers this autumn as some key members have just graduated. Check out our website at or OSU’s CAR at