Michael Rutter Claims Eighth Macau GP Win

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

John McGuinness might be the King of the Mountain at the Isle of Man, but Michael Rutter is the King of the Streets at Macau. After leading throughout the qualifying and practice sessions, Rutter rode a dominant 10 lap race to claim his eighth win at the Macau GP.

Virtually uncontested during the road race, Rutter finished to comfortably, despite a late-stage charge by Martin Jessop, who put on a show with his charge to second, after a poor start off the line.

“The team gave me a brilliant bike,” said Rutter. “The crowds have been fantastic. I enjoy coming here and hope it will keep continuing.” Riding for the SMT Racing team on a Honda CBR1000RR, Rutter was teammates with Isle of Man TT star and rival John McGuinness, whose seventh place finish put SMT at the top of Macau’s first-ever Team Award.

Rounding out the podium was Simon Andrews, making the post-race celebrations a strictly British affair. Meanwhile, America’s main man Mark Miller rode to a respectable fifteenth place finish for the Splitlath Redmond team. Full race results are after the jump.

Race Results from the 2012 Macau GP:

Pos. Rider Nation Team Time Diff. Best Lap
1 Michael RUTTER GBR SMT Racing 02:27.3
2 Martin JESSOPP GBR Riders 4.918 02:27.2
3 Simon ANDREWS GBR Ice Valley by Motorsave Trade 11.288 02:28.2
4 Gary JOHNSON GBR Quattro Plant Motorsports 16.235 02:29.5
5 Horst SAIGER AUT 17.41 02:28.8
6 Conor CUMMINS IOM Tyco Suzuki 19.159 02:29.8
7 John MCGUINNESS GBR SMT Racing 27.796 02:28.2
8 James STORRAR GBR DMR 33.48 02:30.3
9 Dan KNEEN IOM Marks Bloom Racing 37.884 02:31.3
10 James HILLIER GBR Bournemouth Kawasaki Racing 42.985 02:31.4
11 Steve MERCER GBR T+R Motorsport 44.603 02:32.2
12 James MCBRIDE GBR DMR 54.94 02:32.9
13 Branko SRDANOV NED Ice Valley by Motorsave Trade 56.795 02:33.0
14 Didier GRAMS GER German Team-Heidger-M/Sport 59.501 02:32.3
15 Mark MILLER USA Splitlath Redmond 01:17.7 02:34.4
16 David JOHNSON AUS Splitlath Redmond 01:24.7 02:35.6
17 Riko PENZKOFER GER Penz 13 01:32.1 02:36.1
19 Davy MORGAN GBR CSC Racing 01:39.2 02:35.6
20 Jamie HAMILTON GBR RPM Performance 01:39.3 02:36.4
21 Yoshinari MATSUSHITA JPN Penz 13 01:48.5 02:37.9
22 Brandon CRETU USA Hel Performance 03:42.5 02:41.9
23 Joao FERNANDES MAC Penz 13 1 LAP 02:46.6
DNF Rafael PASCHOALIN BRA Brazilian Team DNF 02:38.6

Source: Macau GP; Photo: © 2012 CGPM – All Rights Reserved