Dirt

2021 Dakar Rally Route Revealed in Saudi Arabia

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

The route for the 2021 Dakar Rally has been announced, as the iconic race once again traverses the country of Saudi Arabia.

There had been hope that this year would see The Dakar leaving the Saudi Kingdom, but with COVID-19 restrictions, opening borders is not a viable option at this time.

That is okay, because the Arabian country has more than enough terrain to challenge the Dakar competitors, and this year we see roughly 3,000 miles of special timed stages being used.

Awaiting them on the Saudi Arabian course is no shortage of sandy dunes, rocky trails, and mountain slopes.

On Stage 9 there is a rest day, which will be useful since, Stage 10 starts the marathon portion of the race, where the teams will not be able to help the competitors with their maintenance work, as they enter into Stage 11.

In the motorcycle category, all eyes will be on Ricky Brabec and his Honda CRF450 Rally, to see whether the young American can defend his victory from last year, and if Honda can continue to spoil KTM’s dominance in this race.

Of course, the orange bikes hope to correct the wrong from last year, which up-ended an 18-year streak at the Dakar Rally for the Austrian motorcycle manufacturer. With Yamaha and Husqvarna looking strong as well, KTM will have no easy task in that regard.

A quick table of the 2021 Dakar Rally stages are below, but for a full description, you should read the summaries on the Dakar Rally website.


Stage Date Start & Finish Distance
      Total | Special
P Saturday, January 2, 2021 Jeddah > Jeddah 11 km | 11 km
1 Sunday, January 3, 2021 Jeddah > Bisha 622 km | 277 km
2 Monday, January 4, 2021 Bisha > Wadi Al Dawasir 685 km | 457 km
3 Tuesday, January 5, 2021 Wadi Al Dawasir > Wadi Al Dawasir 630 km | 403 km
4 Wednesday, January 6, 2021 Wadi Al Dawasir > Riyadh 813 km | 337 km
5 Thursday, January 7, 2021 Riyadh > Buraydah 625 km | 419 km
6 Friday, January 8, 2021 Buraydah > Ha’il 655 km | 485 km
REST Saturday, January 9, 2021 Jeddah  
7 Sunday, January 10, 2021 Ha’il > Sakaka (marathon) 737 km | 471 km
8 Monday, January 11, 2021 Sakaka > Neom 709 km | 375 km
9 Tuesday, January 12, 2021 Neom > Neom 579 km | 465 km
10 Wednesday, January 13, 2021 Neom > Al-`Ula 583 km | 342 km
11 Thursday, January 14, 2021 Al-`Ula > Yanbu 557 km | 511 km
12 Friday, January 15, 2021 Yanbu > Jeddah 452 km | 225 km

Source: Dakar Rally

Jensen Beeler

Despite his best efforts, Jensen is called one of the most influential bloggers in the motorcycle industry, and sometimes consults for motorcycle companies, whether they've solicited his expertise or not.

Comments