Superprestigio Provisional Entry List

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

The organizers of the Barcelona Superprestigio indoor flat track event, to be held in Barcelona on 16th December, published the provisional entry lists on Thursday. The entries contain more than their fair share of talent, with eight world champions in different disciplines lining up on the grid.

Arguably the biggest name from the road racing scene is double Moto2 world champion, MotoGP Rookie of the Year, and best independent team rider Johann Zarco. The Frenchman is due to line up on the grid representing Yamaha.

His compatriot World Supersport champion Lucas Mahias will also be racing in the Superprestigio, as well as former Moto2 world champion and reigning MotoAmerica champion Toni Elias.

The current Moto2 and Moto3 grid will also be well represented, with Fabio Quartararo, Remy Gardner, Fabio Di Giannantonio, Albert Arenas, and Xavi Vierge racing in Barcelona. Former World Superbike star Ruben Xaus will also be taking part.

The Open class entries will be less familiar to Asphalt & Rubber readers, but feature top flight talent nonetheless. JD Beach and Briar Bauman are representing the American Flat Track series, while multiple Supermoto champion Thomas Chareyre leads non-flat track charge.

The field is full of the big names from Europe’s burgeoning flat track scene, including FIM champion Francesco Cecchini, British dirt track racers Ollie Brindley and Toby Hales, and a host of names from the popular Spanish Copa Rodi flat track series.

Two national flat track champions will also be taking part: Italian champion Lorenzo Gabellini and French champion Wilfried Delestre.

The Barcelona Superprestigio is to be held at the Palau San Jordi, in the former Olympic Park on the top of Montjuic, just south of the city, on 16th December.

The racing starts at 6:30pm, with the Super Final to be held shortly after 9pm. Tickets and more information are available from the Barcelona DTX website.

The entry lists appear below:

Superprestigio Class
No. Name Country Bike Race Series / Racing C.V.
2 Jesko Raffin SUI Suzuki 2017 FIM Moto2 World Championship, 26th
5 Johann Zarco FRA Yamaha 2-time FIM Moto 2 World Champion (2015, 2016)
11 Vincent Philippe FRA Suzuki 10-time Endurance World Champion (2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016)
15 Dani Ribalta ESP Honda 2006 Le Mans 24 Hours winner
16 Gregg Black GBR Suzuki 2014 FIM Endurance Stock World Champion
20 Fabio Quartararo FRA Suzuki 2017 FIM Moto2 World Championship, 8th
21 Fabio Di Giannantonio ITA ZAE 2017 FIM Moto3 World Championship, 5th
24 Toni Elias ESP Suzuki 2010 FIM Moto2 World Champion & 2017 MotoAmerica Superbike Champion
31 Carmelo Morales ESP Yamaha 2-time FIM CEV Superbike European Champion (2015, 2016)
34 Xavier Pinsach ESP Honda 2017 FIM Superstock 1000, 30th
42 Marcos Ramirez ESP Honda 2017 FIM Moto3 World Championship, 8th
52 Alessandro Delbianco ITA Honda 2017 CIV Moto 3, 3rd
75 Albert Arenas ESP KTM 2017 FIM Moto3 World Championship, 26th
87 Remy Gardner AUS Yamaha 2017 FIM Moto2 World Championship, 21st
94 David Checa ESP Yamaha 3-time Endurance World Champion (2004, 2014, 2017)
97 Xavi Vierge ESP Honda 2017 FIM Moto2 World Championship, 11th
111 Ruben Xaus AND TM 2003 FIM World Superbike Runner-Up
144 Lucas Mahias FRA Yamaha 2017 FIM Supersport World Champion & 2016 FIM Endurance World Champion
Open Class
1 Ferran Cardus ESP Suzuki 2017 Copa Rodi Dirt Track Champion
4 Thomas Chareyre FRA TM 6-time FIM Supermoto S1 World Champion (2010, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017)
10 Francesco Cecchini ITA ZAE 3-time FIM Flat Track Cup winner (2015, 2016, 2017)
13 Jaume Gaya ESP KTM 2017 Copa Rodi Dirt Track, 8th
14 Briar Bauman USA Kawasaki 2017 American Flat Track, 6th
17 Gerard Bailo ESP Suzuki 2017 Copa Rodi Dirt Track Runner-Up
18 Franc Serra ESP Honda 2017 Copa Rodi Dirt Track, 3rd
33 Sergi Sanchez ESP Honda 2017 Copa Rodi Dirt Track, 6th
36 Lorenzo Gabellini ITA Yamaha 2017 Italian Flat Track Champion
45 Matias Lorenzato ARG Suzuki 2017 South American Supermoto Champion
55 Wilfried Delestre FRA Suzuki 2017 French Flat Track Champion
58 Maikel Dijkstra NED TM 2017 FIM Flat Track Cup, 5th
64 Sylvain Bidart FRA Honda 4-time FIM Supermoto of Nations World Champion (2011, 2014, 2015, 2016)
70 Masatoshi Ohmori JAP Suzuki 2015 Superprestigio Dirt Track superfinalist and drift contest winner
74 Adrian Garin ESP Honda 2017 Copa Rodi Dirt Track, 4th
95 Jd Beach USA Yamaha 2017 MotoAmerica Supersport Runner-Up
98 Richard Mason GBR Honda 2017 British DTRA Dirt Track Championship, 4th
99 Marc Capdevila ESP KTM 2017 Copa Rodi Dirt Track, 9th
120 Toby Hales GBR HQV 2017 British DTRA Dirt Track Championship, 3th
124 Oliver Brindley GBR Kawasaki 2017 American Flat Track Singles Championship, 9th
179 Guillermo Cano ESP Suzuki 2017 Copa Rodi Dirt Track, 7th
213 Jaume Gaya Jr. ESP KTM 2017 Copa Rodi Dirt Track, 5th

Source: DTX Barcelona; Photo: © 2014 Scott Jones / Photo.GP – All Rights Reserved

This article was originally published on MotoMatters, and is republished here on Asphalt & Rubber with permission by the author.