Biaggi, Lorenzo, & Anderson To Be Named MotoGP Legends

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

The ranks of the MotoGP Hall of Fame are set to grow once again, with three new inductions coming in 2022 – Max Biaggi, Jorge Lorenzo, and Hugh Anderson.

The inductions were originally set to happen before the COVID-19 pandemic, but now Dorna sees fit to make good on its plans, with Lorenzo set to be inducted at the Jerez round, Biaggi getting honors at the Mugello round, and there are plans for Anderson later in the season (presumably at Phillip Island, if MotoGP finalizes that stop in Australia).

The nominations are certainly worthy recipients, with Max Biaggi being a four-time Grand Prix World Champion in the 250cc class, with also two Superbike World Championships to his name.

Jorge Lorenzo is a five-time World Champion, taking the honors three times in MotoGP with Yamaha, and twice in the 250cc class with Aprilia.

Competing in the 1960’s, Hugh Anderson took four world titles during his career – two in the 50cc class and two in the 125cc (two of those titles were in the same season, 1963). The New Zealander also has two TT race wins to his name.

Source: Dorna