The 2020 MotoGP Calendar Updated Once Again – Argentina, Thailand, & Malaysia Canceled – Portimao Added?

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

The COVID-19 pandemic has once again reshaped the 2020 MotoGP calendar, though this change had long been expected.

Today, Dorna and the FIM announced that the three races outside Europe still on the calendar – in Argentina, Malaysia, and Thailand – have all been canceled. Taking their place at the end of the season is one extra race, officially unspecified as yet.

Though the FIM have said officially that the final circuit is to be announced on August 10th, after the next round of MotoGP at Brno, reports are circulating that the race is set to be held at Portimao in Portugal.

This does not come as a surprise, given that the Portuguese track has been a reserve on the calendar for some time. Prior to the pandemic, Dorna had been considering putting Portimao into the rotation of five tracks on the Iberian peninsula which would share out three races each year between them.

Below is the revised and updated 2020 MotoGP Championship calendar:

Date Grand prix Circuit Notes
July 15th   Circuito de Jerez – Ángel Nieto Test for MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3
July 19th Spain Circuito de Jerez – Ángel Nieto MotoE
July 26th Andalusia Circuito de Jerez – Ángel Nieto MotoE
August 9th Czech Republic Automotodrom Brno  
August 16th Austria Red Bull Ring-Spielberg  
August 23rd Austria Red Bull Ring-Spielberg  
September 13th San Marino Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli  
September 20th San Marino   MotoE
September 27th Catalunya Barcelona – Catalunya  
October 11th France Le Mans MotoE
October 18th Aragón MotorLand Aragón  
October 25th Aragón MotorLand Aragón  
November 8th Valencia Comunitat Valenciana-Ricardo Tormo  
November 15th Valencia Comunitat Valenciana-Ricardo Tormo  
November 22nd TBA TBA Believed to be Portimao

All dates, events and the eventual attendance of spectators are subject to the evolution of the pandemic and the approval of the corresponding Governments and authorities.

Source: MotoGP