WSBK: Race 2 Makes it a Foursome at Aragon

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

With Race 1 of World Superbike racing at Aragon proving to be a close-fought battle for the top podium spot, the anticipation for Race 2 at the Spanish track was high. Equally rising were the temperatures and wind speeds, which created a new challenge for WSBK teams to deal with in the second race. And though the usual suspects were up at the front of the pack, some newcomers joined them as well, treating World Superbike fans to some very close racing. Race results after the jump.

Getting the jump off the line, Max Biaggi lead Tom Sykes, and Eugene Laverty through the first turn, though the order would change only a couple corners later to Laverty, Biaggi, Haslam, Melandri, and Sykes. Despite the plethora of fast riders in the hunt, it was soon clear that a trio had the edge over the rest, as Biaggi lead Melandri and Laverty on a breakaway maneuver.

Showing his stripes, Laverty soon took over control from his teammate, a move Melandri would replicate as well later, with six laps remaining. The tussle at the front proved to be enough of a distraction for one very determined Chaz Davies to capitalize upon, as the Welsh rider caught up to the leading group, and joined the fray in the closing laps.

Now contesting with three Aprilia riders, Marco Melandri had his hands full on his BMW S1000RR, but was able to hold off the RSV4’s as he took the race win, matching Biaggi’s progress for the weekend. Giving the ParkinGO squad its first podium, Davies finished a very impressive third-place finish, while Laverty bested his first-chair teammate Max Biaggi, and rounded out the rostrum in second.

After this meeting in Aragon, Biaggi leads Melandri by 48 points in the World Superbike Championship. Meanwhile, the battle for third is heating up, as Jonathan Rea has 183 points, to Carlos Checa’s 175.5 and Tom Sykes’ 172.5 points. World Superbike comes at you again from Brno on July 22nd.

Race 2 Results from World Superbike at Aragon, Spain:

Pos. Rider Team Bike Time Diff.
1. Marco Melandri BMW Motorrad Motorsport BMW S1000 RR 39’59.200
2. Eugene Laverty Aprilia Racing Team Aprilia RSV4 Factory 39’59.242 0.042
3. Chaz Davies ParkinGO MTC Racing Aprilia RSV4 Factory 39’59.646 0.446
4. Max Biaggi Aprilia Racing Team Aprilia RSV4 Factory 39’59.684 0.484
5. Jonathan Rea Honda World Superbike Team Honda CBR1000RR 40’05.811 6.611
6. Leon Haslam BMW Motorrad Motorsport BMW S1000 RR 40’06.691 7.491
7. Carlos Checa Althea Racing Ducati 1098R 40’08.525 9.325
8. Tom Sykes Kawasaki Racing Team Kawasaki ZX-10R 40’09.644 10.444
9. Ayrton Badovini BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet BMW S1000 RR 40’10.028 10.828
10. Davide Giugliano Althea Racing Ducati 1098R 40’10.125 10.925
11. Michel Fabrizio BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet BMW S1000 RR 40’21.155 21.955
12. Maxime Berger Team Effenbert Liberty Racing Ducati 1098R 40’21.246 22.046
13. Sylvain Guintoli Team Effenbert Liberty Racing Ducati 1098R 40’21.686 22.486
14. Lorenzo Zanetti PATA Racing Team Ducati 1098R 40’42.001 42.801
15. Hiroshi Aoyama Honda World Superbike Team Honda CBR1000RR 40’48.344 49.144
16. David Salom Team Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 40’50.161 50.961
17. Niccoló² Canepa Red Devils Roma Ducati 1098R 41’00.063 60.863
18. Leandro Mercado Team Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 41’13.349 74.149
19. Norino Brignola Grillini Progea Superbike Team BMW S1000 RR 41’52.588 113.388
20. Loris Baz Kawasaki Racing Team Kawasaki ZX-10R 41’37.232 1 Lap
RET Leon Camier FIXI Crescent Suzuki Suzuki GSX-R1000 35’03.915
RET John Hopkins FIXI Crescent Suzuki Suzuki GSX-R1000 6’11.966

Source: WSBK; Photo: HRC