WSBK: Sunshine & Motorbikes for Race 1 at MMP

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Memorial Day was finally greeted with some proper racing weather at Miller Motorsports Park, and World Superbike racing was underway Monday at WSBK’s only stop in the USA. With the Ducatis lacking speed on Miller’s long front straight, the Italain contingency made up for its horsepower deficit in MMP’s many curves. Surprisingly, this lead to Jakub Smrz taking the Superpole on Sunday, and with Carlos Checa and Davide Giugliano sitting on the front row, only Tom Sykes could mix things up with his #3 spot on the grid.

As the lights went out, it was Sykes who took the lead into the first turns, followed closely by Carlos Checa and Marco Melandri. Sykes’ lead would be short-lived though, as the Englishman slowly drifted back through the field. As Carlos Checa yoyo’d himself to the lead, making ground on the technical bends of Miller, and then losing pace on the track’s longer straights, the Spaniard on his Ducati 1098R finally bested Marco Melandri’s BMW S1000RRR.

Once able to get some space from Melandri, Checa rode his own race, and finished over two seconds ahead of the Italian, who had as similar gap back to third. Battling for the final podium spot was Max Biaggi and Jonathan Rea, and the pair had a good battle to the finish, which saw the former-WSBK Champion overcoming Rea’s valiant efforts.

For the American contingency, it was a forgettable race, as Jake Holden, Shane Turpin, and John Hopkins all found the gravel at their home track.

Race 1 Results from World Superbike at Miller Motorsports Park, USA:

Pos. Rider Team Bike Time Diff.
1. Carlos Checa Althea Racing Ducati 1098R 38’21.283
2. Marco Melandri BMW Motorrad Motorsport BMW S1000 RR 38’23.596 2.313
3. Max Biaggi Aprilia Racing Team Aprilia RSV4 Factory 38’26.621 5.338
4. Jonathan Rea Honda World Superbike Team Honda CBR1000RR 38’26.800 5.517
5. Eugene Laverty Aprilia Racing Team Aprilia RSV4 Factory 38’33.484 12.201
6. Jakub Smrz Liberty Racing Team Effenbert Ducati 1098R 38’34.545 13.262
7. Chaz Davies ParkinGO MTC Racing Aprilia RSV4 Factory 38’40.945 19.662
8. Tom Sykes Kawasaki Racing Team Kawasaki ZX-10R 38’42.575 21.292
9. Michel Fabrizio BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet BMW S1000 RR 38’42.733 21.450
10. Leon Haslam BMW Motorrad Motorsport BMW S1000 RR 38’44.716 23.433
11. Davide Giugliano Althea Racing Ducati 1098R 38’44.979 23.696
12. Sylvain Guintoli Team Effenbert Liberty Racing Ducati 1098R 38’46.035 24.752
13. Leon Camier FIXI Crescent Suzuki Suzuki GSX-R1000 38’50.683 29.400
14. Ayrton Badovini BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet BMW S1000 RR 38’52.505 31.222
15. Loris Baz Kawasaki Racing Team Kawasaki ZX-10R 38’54.249 32.966
16. Maxime Berger Team Effenbert Liberty Racing Ducati 1098R 38’56.692 35.409
17. Hiroshi Aoyama Honda World Superbike Team Honda CBR1000RR 39’13.436 52.153
18. Shane Turpin Boulder Motor Sports Ducati 1098R 38’49.456 1 LAP
19. Jake Holden Grillini Progea Superbike Team BMW S1000 RR 39’00.843 1 LAP
RET Leandro Mercado Team Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R
RET Lorenzo Zanetti PATA Racing Team Ducati 1098R
RET John Hopkins FIXI Crescent Suzuki Suzuki GSX-R1000
RET David Salom Team Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R
RET Niccoló Canepa Red Devils Roma Ducati 1098R

Source: WSBK; Photo: © 2012 Rick Grayston – All Rights Reserved