Zero/Agni Sits On TTXGP Pole – Lightning Close Behind as Both Teams Do Sub-Two Minute Laps

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Qualifying ended today at Infineon Raceway, with nearly all the riders improving on their times in the day’s later qualifying session. While all the entrants will get to compete in the race regardless of whether or not they qualify, the two outings for Saturday gave us a preview as to what we can expect on Sunday’s race. As we’ve mentioned before, the Zero/Agni motorcycle looked very strong with Shawn Higbee at the helm.

Also looking confident was the “flying banana” fielded by Lightning Motors. Piloted by Michael Barnes, Barney took the yellow lightning machine around the course at a pace that was just seconds off what Higbee & Co. were lapping. We know the yellow bike has a lot of power on-board, and could give Zero a run for their money if they’ve been sand-bagging it during the practice sessions. Finishing out the top three was Thad Wolff and his stunning Norton, which blended a little bit of old with new with his streamlined retro bike chassis. Click past the jump for photos from qualifying and a full list of results.

Pos. No. Name Team Time
1 22 Shawn Higbee Zero/Agni 01:56.9
2 80 Michael Barnes Lightning Motors 01:59.4
3 37 Thad Wolff Team Electra 02:09.3
4 15 Mike Hannas Electric Race Bike 02:10.5
5 14 Kenyon Kluge K Squared Racing 02:13.3
6 19 Spencer Smith Volt Motors 02:20.8
7 20 James Pooler Electric Motor Sports 02:22.7
8 23 Jennifer Bromme Werkstatt Racing 02:24.5
9 16 John Wild Square Wave 02:46.3
10 18 Zoe Rem Pril Motors 02:49.6

Photos: © 2010 Jason Yu & Jensen Beeler / Asphalt & Rubber – Creative Commons 3.0