IOMTT: Race Results from the Dainese Superbike TT

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

The first solo bike race of the 2013 Isle of Man TT, the Dainese Superbike TT race features 1,000cc superbike fours (1,200cc twins), which complete six laps around the Isle of Man’s Mountain Course. A prelude of things to come during the TT’s blue-ribbon event, the Senior TT, the Superbike TT boasts all the top names on the fastest machinery, and typically is the opening race for the IOMTT.

Though it was Gary Johnson who had the early lead, Michael Dunlop took control of things by the time he got to Ballaugh Bridge. Trailing Dunlop at the end of the first lap were Guy Martin on his Tyco Suzuki and Gary Johnson on his Lincs Lifting Honda. Trailing in fourth and fifth were John McGuinness and Cameron Donald, though not for long.

On the second lap, McGuinness slotted into the second position, 15 seconds back from Dunlop (who put down his first 131+ mph lap). Seemingly untouchable, even McPint was seven seconds a lap slower than his teammate Dunlop. Falling down the time sheet was Guy Martin, who wasn’t aided by his crew with their pit stop, as McGuinness put another six seconds on the Tyco Suzuki rider. Gary Johnson would retire during the second lap at The Nook as his Honda has run out of fuel.

At the second pit stop on lap four, Dunlop was the only rider above 130 mph, and was able to put a 30 second barrier between him and McGuinness. Incurring a one-minute penalty in the pits, John McGuinness would see his gap to Dunlop increase even further.

Finishing the sixth lap with a comfortable margin, Michael Dunlop won the Superbike TT with ease, though the battle behind him was fierce. Overcoming his penalty, and re-catching Guy Martin, John McGuinness finished third and set a course record with a 131.671 mph lap. Meanwhile, Cameron Donald claimed the second podium step, setting a personal best for himself as well.

For a bit of nostalgia, the Honda 1-2-3 podium coincided with today’s race being the 30th anniversary of Joey Dunlop’s affiliation with the Japanese brand, which saw John McGuinness riding in Joey’s livery during the race.

Rounding things out, Australian fans will be pleased to hear of the 10th place performance by Josh Brookes, as the Suzuki rider set a 127.726 mph lap — the fastest ever for a newcomer to the TT.

For complete race results, click here.

Source: IOMTT; Photo: © 2013 Tony Goldsmith / TGF Photos – All Rights Reserved