Michael Dunlop Enters Lightweight TT Race – Looking for Six Race Wins at 2014 Isle of Man TT

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

After an impressive four victories at the 2013 Isle of Man TT, Michael Dunlop has announced his entry into the Lightweight TT race for 2014, and thus a bid to win six solo races in 2014.

Although Dunlop has admittedly not been concerned with the Lightweight TT in the past, when you’re on a mission to take six podiums in one week, you take wins wherever you can get them.

Having already tied Phillip McCallen’s 1996 mark of four wins, Dunlop is seeking to dethrone Ian Hutchinson from his five-win campaign of 2010.

“It is fair to say that I haven’t really given the Lightweight Race my full attention in the past, but this year we are going all out to win this race and try and make it six wins from six starts,” Dunlop said.

As crazy as it may sound to go into this year’s TT with a predetermined goal of six wins, Dunlop and the crew at McAdoo Racing are well aware of the challenges ahead and have come prepared.

“It’s a massive target, but that is what we go racing for and McAdoo Racing has gone all out on building me a race-winning bike,” Dunlop said. “I’m looking forward to the challenge and seeing if we can put one over the established riders and teams in this class.”

The race winning bike he is referring to is a Kawasaki ER-6 Supertwin, which should allow him a decent shot at his bid for the king of solo victories but make no mistake about it, the competition is going to be fierce.

The top 20 starting spots are stacked with young talent and seasoned veterans that will be breathing down the back of his helmet, most notably Ryan Farquhar and James Hillier, the 2012 and 2013 Lightweight TT race winners.

The three-lap Lightweight TT race will be one of the most competitive and intense, as the machines in this category may not exceed 650cc, and must be based on production two-cylinder bikes no older than 2005.

The Lightweight TT race will take place Friday, June 6 just before the final race of the event, the Pokerstars Senior TT.

Source: IOMTT