Dakar Rally – Stage 1: HRC Takes First Stage Win

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

The first stage of the 2014 Dakar Rally has come and gone, and while all the focus has been on multiple rally winners Cyril Despres (Yamaha) and Marc Coma (KTM), it was in fact Joan Barreda from the HRC factory team who took the first stage win.

A strong start for Honda’s rally racing program and the Honda CRF450 Rally race bike, Barreda’s stage win, though only 37 seconds quicker than Coma’s finish, solidifies Honda’s spot as a contender in this year’s Dakar — thus making the 2014 edition a true three-way battle royale.

Good money is still on Coma and Despres though, who are well within striking distance of Barreda, with 12 stages of racing still remaining. With only 180 km of timed “special” course on Sunday, the day’s racing was short and tight. It will be interesting to see how Monday’s longer 359 km special stage should sort the field out. Stay tuned.

Top 10 Riders from Stage 1: Rosario to San Luis
1) Joan Barreda – Spain – Honda – 02:25:31
2) Marc Coma – Spain – KTM – +00:00:37
3) Cyril Despres – France, Yamaha – +00:01:40
4) Alain Duclos – France – Sherco – +00:01:56
5) Paolo Goncalves – Portugal – Honda – +00:02:25
6) Chaleco Lopez – Chile – KTM – +00:03:24
7) Joan Pedrero – Spain – Sherco – +00:03:47
8) Michael Metge – France – Yamaha – +00:04:33
9) Sam Sunderland – United Kingdom – Honda – +00:04:33
10) Alessandro Botturi – Italy – Speedbrain – +00:04:48

Stage One Video Summary:

Stage One – “Top Moment”

Source: Dakar Rally

Jensen Beeler

Despite his best efforts, Jensen is called one of the most influential bloggers in the motorcycle industry, and sometimes consults for motorcycle companies, whether they've solicited his expertise or not.